Nanoflix.net Blog

by Peter Rasmussen

Antics

Posted by Peter Rasmussen on April 14, 2007

Antics 

Antics is real time previsualisation software. I’m a little surprised I haven’t seen anyone experimenting with Antics to make machinima. It’s understandably a bit of a kick in the hip pocket for an itinerant artist.

The kind of thing that most appeals to me about it is that I use artificial intelligence to navigate characters around furniture and in handling all sorts of props. The video tutorials lay it all out. It’s definitely worth a look.

Antics
http://www.antics3d.com/default.asp?section=139&page=448

14 Responses to “Antics”

  1. Hugh "Nomad" Hancock said

    You may or may not be aware that I consulted on the development of Antics a few years ago. It’s good stuff. I’ve got a copy of the latest version sitting on my desk right now, and I’m planning to play with it once we’re done with the book.

  2. Hugh "Nomad" Hancock said

    BTW – good blog. I’m enjoying it.

  3. Peter said

    Thanks. I’m still trying to get my head around what it is about blogs and the way you get connected up with other people. The crawlers make it partly automated but then you do your own hunting. They are like an infinite dinner party. Sort of casual and “in passing”. You can be impulsive. Often where the best stuff comes from. Or take a moment to gather your thoughts. It’s slightly addictive in wanting to have something there every day. And the style of writing is somewhere between journalism and conversation.

    Once you get a chance to get into Antics I hope you will give even a brief report on what it’s like to work with. Like I said I’m particularly fascinated with the character behaviour manipulation. It has so much potential. I could really see dynamic motion synthesis playing a big part.

  4. Simanticus said

    Antics is what we use in film story boarding and scene sketches, but I don’t think the texture resolution is good enough for most machinima, but you certainly can get the characters and camera controls to do a lot more. I’d like to see better character models and greater textures, but they really don’t market it for machinima.

    Patrick D

  5. I haven’t had a chance to look into it myself but I’ve heard murmurs that the company who make Antics are working on a version to specifically cater for making Machinima.

  6. Simanticus said

    Scott seems to think it’s good enough for an end product, not just a scene motion board product. I’d like to see his final production, if he’s going to do one from start to finish with Antics.

    Patrick D

  7. Simanticus said

    “I haven’t had a chance to look into it myself but I’ve heard murmurs that the company who make Antics are working on a version to specifically cater for making Machinima.”

    Now THAT would be awesome! If they can tighten up the character models (G2 would be awesome) textures and lighting model for machinima, it would be THE machinima production tool giant! They’ve certainly got all the animations and object-interaction going.

    Patrick D

  8. Also, I think the key to machinima at this early stage is some degree of stylisation rather than photorealism. Even the rawest graphics can have an appeal if they are presented in the right way. I think machinima is in a strong position to cultivate it’s own audience through this approach. It’s art over reality.

  9. Simanticus said

    But machinima producers differ in style, as any other artist. Not all artist want to work with watercolors, as well others don’t like oils. This would force all machinima artist to work in the same medium and same style.

  10. You’re quite right. The more range a medium has the more it is up to the artist to choose the style they want to work in. So if machinima-making software can produce high quality images that’s definitely better. I’m all in favour of great looking machinima. I guess I just want to say as often as possible that limited tools should not be seen as limited creative potential.

  11. Simanticus said

    The ideal machinima production suite should be able to render in the best graphic and texture resolution available, including HDR lighting. The STYLE would come in – in post production, where even a photo-realistic environment can be manipulated to look surreal, abstract even cartoonish.

  12. Simanticus said

    Peter,

    What was used to produce STOLEN LIFE?

  13. The animation and models were done in Maya. The lighting and effects and everything through to the image capture were done in 3DGameStudio. A more detailed description of the process can be found in “The Making of Stolen Life”
    http://www.justadventure.com/articles/StolenLife/MakingOf.shtm

  14. Simanticus said

    Thanks, peter. I look forward to seeing it and wish you much success with it.

Leave a Reply

 
