Nanoflix.net Blog

by Peter Rasmussen

Keeping It Fresh

Posted by Peter Rasmussen on March 6, 2007

Yesterday I was contacted by a journalist who wanted to ask me a few questions about “Stolen Life” for an article about Machinima. She sent me a bunch of questions that I sent back answers to. I quite like this because it’s great to have at least a little bit of time to get the wording right for these answers.

Writing works in a strange way, at least it seems to for me. Even for something as short as an e-mail interview the ideas come out in unrelated fragments onto the page, but all at once like a sneeze. At first glance there doesn’t seem to be much that can be done with it. I try to keep in mind what the particular piece is for.

Because of the nature of reporting on a project like this you often get the same questions. I try to give a fresh angle on it if I possibly can. It’s surprising how much effort goes into making it feel casual but still entertaining.
I worry that I can tend to sound a bit pompous.
We love talking about what we’ve done, about every little detail. But you have to give the journalist a “sound bite” they can use. So much effort for something that feels like conversation.

Mark Twain once wrote, “If I had more time this letter would be shorter.”

Stolen Life is a feature length Machinima movie starring Claudia Black of Stargate and Farscape and Chris Jones of Tex Murphy.

Leave a Reply

 
